The Chrysalis Nines

Tarot cards numbered nine traditionally indicate successful completion of a cycle. But that interpretation may not serve you well. There’s still work to do. The nines actually presage an opportunity for you to successfully complete a cycle that requires making tough choices. Those choices demand that you recognize and personally adapt to a particular dynamic of change. We’ll detail those dynamics of change directly.

But first, a word about what contributes to Chrysalis’ uniqueness. It’s goal is to help you attain higher consciousness – a greater awareness of the material world, of Self, of the unseen world and of your healing ministry. You would not be reading this unless you have a healing ministry – for yourself and for others. The Nines symbolize the four cornerstones of Chrysalis.

The Nine of Stones bolsters your courage, the courage you need to renounce material attachments and grow indifferent to ego gratification. Material attachments are by definition ego-driven attachments. They are obstacles to personal and spiritual growth.

The Nine of Mirrors engenders peace, joy and self-reflection, the external peace we experience in nature’s beauty and bounty and the internal peace we experience in joy and surrender of control.

The Nine of Spirals is Chrysalis’ icon for reorganization and perseverance. Aeolus, the master of the four winds, appears on the cover of our Chrysalis Companion book. The companion book attempts to dispense with gnawing tarot superstitions by offering for consideration the science of interconnectivity and oneness. Quantum physics shows that our universe is an infinite storehouse of information¹ – of all the information ever generated by thought, word, deed and emotion. The permanency of what we might term cosmic consciousness references an early Buddhist belief known as the Akashic Records.

The Nine of Scrolls is Chrysalis’ Dark Night of the Soul card. This card depicts the despair often suffered during times of intense spiritual growth or personal transformation. It’s allegorized as the darkness a caterpillar experiences when encased in its chrysalis before becoming a butterfly. The Dark Night of the Soul points to the process of becoming.

¹ The Quantum Thermodynamics Revolution

Images of the Chrysalis Nines were taken from the Chrysalis Tarot app by The Fool’s Dog.

~ Toney

Happy Lammas!

C03This week’s featured Chrysalis Tarot card is Gaia, the primal Mother Earth goddess of Greek mythology. The occasion we celebrate today is the Festival of Lammas, the first of three annual harvest festivals on the Chrysalis calendar. The others are Mabon and Samhain.

Lammas means loaf mass. Its origins can be traced to the mythology of the dying god of light, the son of the Sun whose (self-sacrificing) energy produces life-sustaining grains, fruits and vegatables (resurrected) annually.

In Gaelic lands this First Fruits festival celebrates the funeral rites of Lugh, the Celtic god of light. It’s called Lughnasadh meaning “assembly of Lugh.” In Judaism Shavuot celebrates the wheat harvest and concludes a 7-week celebration that begins with the barley harvest at Passover. On the Jewish calendar this event occured this year in June.

The dying god archetype is universal. The Haida people of the Pacific Northwest believe that salmon are supernatural spirits who assume fish-like form to sacrifice themselves annually for the benefit of humankind.

Whether you bake a loaf, make a corn dolly, take a nature walk or go fishing, Happy Lughnasadh this August 1st! Fall is in the air.


Salmon art by Haida artist Bill Reed

Corn dolly by Brandon Thatchers.